30 DAY SONG CHALLENGE K-POP EDITION

Day 04: a song by your favorite male idol

Rap Monster – Do You

As I get deeper into my 20’s I find myself trying to figure myself out more and more, needing affirmation of ‘who am I?’ and ‘what am I doing?’
So when it comes to these philosophical questions Rap Monster is the go to guy.
Once his mixtape came out, I automatically fell in love with Do You and the lyrics.
I am like most people, who when trying to “find” themselves get lost in fitting in and forcing myself in other people’s mold.
But recently, when I got rejected from my program, I was torn between staying in my comfort zone (find a job close to home) and what I really want to do (teach abroad).
I always listen to this song to remind me to just ‘do you’ and not care what other people have to say.
So I’m reapply next semester and working part time to save up money and spend more time with friends and family.

What I learned from listening to songs that are not in my language is that yes the melody is what attracts you but it’s the lyrics and the backstory that keeps you listening.

I had so much more to say but I found it hard to type the thoughts that swam in my head.
I love this effect Rap Monster has on me.

30 DAY SONG CHALLENGE K-POP EDITION

080416

Leave a Reply

